Pearl Orthodox Christian Publishing
Veronica Hughes
www.PearlofGreatPriceOrthodox.com
Reviews of Pearl of Great Price

5 Stars Amazon
A good read., November 22, 2013

A wonderful book of special importance for anyone who is thinking of entering the world of New Age, meditative, spirituality. The author writes from a perspective of great knowledge and practice in that sphere. The concerns she speaks of ring similar to the experiences several others have written about after escaping that world ("The Gurus, the Young Man, and Elder Paisios" is one such book, and there are many more). Too often in life we proceed without much discernment as to what we are doing, thinking yoga and some of these other practices are harmless. But the spiritual world is real, whether we want to acknowledge it or not. And it will have an affect on us, whether we recognize it or not.

Ms. Hughes writing is sincere, honest, and respectful. This book will help open your eyes. It's a good book and I'm glad to have read it.



Fr. Joseph Bittle comments:

“A truly fascinating read.  Veronica Hughes keeps the story moving at a good pace, while still managing to share the basic details of her far-ranging spiritual path, the path, as the subtitle explains, “of a new age seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church.”   As a pastor in need of awareness of what those who approach me may have experienced in their own pasts, I marveled at the mish-mash world of New Age practices that are so often melded with historical Far Eastern/Oriental religious practices.  Hughes reveals much that I was only vaguely aware of before, but, thankfully, without so much detail that the reader might fall prey to an unhealthy fascination with that which she herself left behind. Indeed, she does a remarkable job being kind-hearted toward her past while steadily drawing the reader forward the true Light she eventually found in Christ through Orthodoxy.”


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, February 10, 2013
By mom
Amazon
This review is from: The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Kindle Edition)
Mesmerized by the story, enjoyable and easy to read, good for seekers (must read) especially for New Age, and also an eye opener.

5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, well-written, thoughtful, helpful, January 1, 2013

First, this is a story well-told. I disagree with another reviewer who stated that some of the writing was awkward in the beginning of the book. I did not find it so. I was sufficiently engrossed in the story to finish the entire book within two days of purchasing it. There are many, many people whose childhood did not provide them with a satisfying religious experience within
Christianity and it is not surprising that such people search for truth in other traditions. I think this author's experience would be invaluable for people attracted to Hinduism, New Age and the occult. The author spent many years involved in New Age and Hindu spiritualism and can speak with the authority of substantial experience. Excellent read, i would recommend it to anyone interested in the interface between Eastern Religions, New Age and Christianity.

I would also recommend The Gurus, The Young Man and Elder Paisios and Klaus Kenneth's Born to Hate, Reborn to Love. In all three of these books a young person explores Hindu mysticism (as well as the occult and Buddhism in the case of Klaus Kenneth) in great depth before returning to Christian Orthodoxy. Very different people but there are some overarching similarities in their experiences. Each is worth a read.

5.0 out of 5 stars The Pearl of Great Price, October 1, 2012

This review is from: The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Paperback)
This book is an excellent review of how the modern mind, hungry for something more than the material world is led astray into dangerous spiritual waters. It is also a story of hope and a lighthouse for those lost in the storms of spirit to the safe haven prepared for us by our Lord. If you are spiritual, but not religious, you must read this.


5.0 out of 5 stars
An Inspiring, Open, and Non-Judgmental Account of a Woman's Journey From New Age Spirituality to the Orthodox Church, June 1, 2012
By Chris (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews

 

This review is from: The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Paperback)
The Pearl of Great Price describes Veronica's journey from her childhood disenchantment with her guilt-laden experiences as a young Roman Catholic through hypnosis, out-of-body experiences, yoga, the channeling of spirit guides and ascended masters, Buddhism, and finally to the Orthodox Church, which she finally comes to consider her home. I read this book in less than two days. It brought me to the verge of tears at several points. I think it will be helpful to many people, especially to women. I especially appreciate the heroic level of honesty with which she openly shares all of her fears, pains, and insecurities along her journey; this brings a level of genuineness to her work not easily found elsewhere. I also very much appreciate that even though she eventually concluded that much of what she had engaged in before her conversion was wrong, and some of it even demonic, that she nevertheless presented these experiences as stepping stones on her journey to Orthodoxy and showed a real appreciation for the ways in which God had reached out to her through those experiences. I think that is very important to the ability of her story to reach out to others who have had similar experiences and would be turned off by blanket accusations devoid of any nuance that such experiences were completely evil. Instead, she presents them without any judgment, and we experience each chapter of her life as she had experienced it at the time, rather than through the lens of her later judgments, except that she occasionally marvels within these early chapters at how these experiences ultimately led her on her path to a more intimate connection with God. Her approach produces what ultimately is a beautiful and inspiring memoir.

5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride, May 16, 2012
This review is from: The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Paperback)

Author Veronica Hughes takes the reader on a fast paced wild ride through the world of spirituality. A baby-boomer seeker, she ventures from Roman Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism, and a host of other New-Age religious schools and metaphysical movements to the Eastern Orthodox Church. It's basically her life story as the child of an Italian immigrant, baptized into Catholicism, marrying early in life, and pursuing different forms of spirituality to provide healing. Along the way she becomes an educator and authority in channeling messages from ascended masters. After various dissapointments and depression she finds her spiritual home in Christian Orthodoxy. An enjoyable read, I highly recommend it. I notice she also has a website containing some useful resources. Thank you for sharing your story Veronica and I look forward to your next book.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Check out this wonderful video review of Veronica's book by David Withun released 12/28/11
A moving biography about the process of Christian conversion that takes you into not just the story, but a part of Veronica's soul and its journey to Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWbnkCOkh1A&feature=digest_fri

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Short book review: The Pearl of Great Price by Veronica Hughes

Posted by David Withun

This book tells the story of one woman's movement from the traditional Roman Catholicism of her youth, through various New Age and Eastern spiritual and religious movements, and finally to Eastern Orthodox Christianity. Throughout the course of the narrative, the reader is not only told the events that occurred but also let into the emotional, mental, and spiritual world of the author, getting a glimpse of the movements of heart and spirit that eventually lead to embrace Christ and his Church.

Her story is one that many, including myself, who have converted to Orthodoxy in America over the last several decades will be able to identify with, as many of us found ourselves disillusioned with the spiritual barrenness and harshness of Western religion, as embodied in Roman Catholic and Protestant Christianity, and so headed East to religions and philosophies like Buddhism, Hinduism, and Taoism, only to turn again to Christianity as it is embodied in the Orthodox Faith, its fullest and truest expression.

I recommend this book both for those who have come or are coming to Orthodoxy from such a background in Eastern and New Age religions, as well as for those who have close friends and family interested or involved in such movements. I think this book can act as an excellent bridge book and a gateway for those who have fled from the typical Western understandings of Christ to return to Christ, the real Christ.

http://www.piousfabrications.com


Veronica---I loved your book! I want more, more more!!! I think that you, forgive me for saying if I am too forward, really need to write more books for everyone.  This is such a huge unquenched as of yet need in our community - to reclaim the once or twice a year Orthodox, the New Agers and anyone else who is really deeply searching for God.
Ariane Trifunovic-Montemuro
www.arianeart.com
"The Lord is the accomplishment of everything good that I think, feel and do." St. John Kronstadt

Amazon.com
5.0 out of 5 stars A seeker's journey through,May 17, 2011
By Daniel R. Duncan (San Francisco, CA USA)

 

This review is from: The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Paperback)

What's remarkable about Veronica Hughes' "Pearl" is its quiet candor, where one usually finds a strident and defensive proselytism.

She describes her previous spiritual explorations with even-handed respect, even when she has found a greater fulfillment in Orthodoxy. Especially interesting is the respectful way she describes her previous relationships in New Age organizations in which she was even a pioneer. This readiness to describe while being reluctant to judge seems to be part of an Orthodox perspective.

She does not call names, but describes events, again, in an even-handed and honest way that is rare in accounts of conversion. She thus honors the search that has led her, and may lead others, to Orthodoxy.

And now that she is fully immersed in Orthodoxy, this reader looks forward to her further adventures in its spiritual landscape for, indeed, every Christian must heed Christ's admonition to seek and to knock so that the truth may answer. For when truth is alive, it does not stand and stagnate. Veronica's account so far promises a similarly quiet candor as she finds the next steps in her journey.

Indeed, her measured perspective will be especially welcome as she goes more and more deeply into this great tradition.


"Dear Veronica:  I have read your book.  It was as if you had written my own story.  I understood every word on a truly deep and personal level...and like you, I came to the same conclusion by the Grace of God.  I became Orthodox a few years ago.  Glory to Thee, O God, Glory to Thee!  Thank you for writing the book, and for helping those of us who have walked this journey to understand it even more.  I hope it will also help those who love others who are walking this same way.  May God bless you, now and ever and unto ages of ages."

  ---- Anna S.  Jan 3, 2011


Amazon.com, 5 of 5 stars review
Amazing book, unique perspective, February 15, 2011

By 
Mom in Bay Area (Redwood City, CA)



This review is from:
The Pearl of Great Price: The Spiritual Journey of a New Age Seeker to the Light of Christ and the Eastern Orthodox Church (Paperback)

When I first starting reading this book, I was thinking, yet another confessional book written by yet another screwed up baby boomer. I have to confess that I began to like this book more and more as I kept reading and I wasn't able to put it down until I finished. The author's journey is worth reading about, especially if you are a woman interested in spirituality and in Christianity. I appreciate that Paula Sivori (the author's real name) could tell us this story with honesty. The book is not as well-edited as I would like especially in the beginning. There are lots of parts where the writing is awkward and amateurish (good editing would have fixed this!) Otherwise, I heartily recommend this book for anyone who has been searching for answers to the meaning of life and questioning God.